India | भारत | Republic Of India | Bhārat Gaṇarājya | भारत गणराज्य

This article is about the India (Hindi: भारत गणराज्य), official name Republic of India.

National Flag of India
The name 'India' is derived from the River Indus, the valleys around which were the home of the early settlers. The Aryan worshippers referred to the river Indus as the Sindhu.

Another popular name of India is is Hindustan (Hindi: हिन्दुस्तान). It is an Persian name of India introduced during the Mughal Empire.

India is a country in South Asia.  It covers an area of 32,87,263 sq. km (1,269,346 sq mi). It is the 7th largest country by area in the world and second most-populous country, after China.

India is the member of UN (United Nations). 

India is one of the oldest civilizations in the world, spanning a period of more than 4000 years.

Current President of India

14th President of India
Shri Ram Nath Kovind (birth - 1945)
Term of Office: 25 July, 2017 to till date
click here for List of Former Presidents of India

Current Vice President of India

13th Vice President of India
Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu (B-1949)
Term of Office: 11 August 2017 - Incumbent
Party: BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party)
click here for List of Former Vice Presidents of India

Current Prime Minister of India

17th Prime Minister of India
Narendra Modi (1950–)
Term of Office: 26 May 2014 to 30 May 2019
Party: BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party)
click here for List of Former Prime Ministers of India

Current Chief Justice of India

46th Chief Justice of India
Name: Ranjan Gogoi
नाम: रंजन गोगोई
Term of Office: 03 October 2018 - Incumbent
कार्यकाल: 03 अक्टूबर 2018 - अब तक
click here for List of Former Chief Justices of India

Current Chief Election Commissioner of India

23rd Chief Election Commissioner of India
Name: Shri Sunil Arora
नाम: श्री सुनील अरोड़ा
Term of Office: 02 December, 2018 - Incumbent
कार्यकाल: 02 दिसम्बर 2018 - अब तक
click here for List of Former Chief Election Commissioners of India

Administrative Divisions

India has 28 states and 9 union territories.

List of Districts in India

Total number of districts in India - 732
Number of districts in Indian states (28) - 687
Number of districts in Union Territories (09) of India - 45
click here to see state wise List of Districts in India

Border Countries

Pakistan and Afghanistan to the north-west.
China, Nepal, and Bhutan to the north.
Bangladesh and Myanmar to the east.


India's population, as on 1 March 2011 stood at 1,210,193,422 (623.7 million males and 586.4 million females).

Most populous state is Uttar Pradesh.
Least populous state is Sikkim.

Sex Ratio

940 females per 1000 males according to 2011 census.


According to the 2001 census, out of the total population of 1,028 million in the Country, Hindus constituted the majority with 80.5%, Muslims came second at 13.4%, followed by Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Jains, and others.

Literacy rate

According to the provisional results of the 2011 census, the literacy rate in the Country stands at 74.04 per cent, 82.14% for males and 65.46% for females.

National Flag Description

The National Flag is a horizontal tricolor of deep saffron (kesaria) at the top, white in the middle, and dark green at the bottom in equal proportion. At the center of the white band is a navy blue wheel, which is a representation of the Ashoka Chakra at Sarnath.


"Satyameva Jayate" (Sanskrit).
"Truth Alone Triumph" (English).

National Anthem

"जन गण मन" (Jana Gana Mana).
Thou Art the Ruler of the Minds of All People.

It is written by Rabindranath Tagore.

National Song

"वन्दे मातरम" (Vande Mataram).
I Bow to Thee, Mother.

It is a Bengali poem written by Bankim Chandra Chatterjee in 1870s.

National Days

26th January (Republic Day)
15th August (Independence Day)
2nd October (Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday - Father Of The Nation)

National Bird

The Indian peacock

National Animal

The magnificent tiger

National Flower



New Delhi

Largest city



There are 22 different languages - 
National language - NA
Official languages - Hindi, English




Indian rupee (₹) (INR)

Time zone

UTC+05:30 (IST), DST is not observed

Date format


Driving side


Calling code


ISO 3166 code


Internet TLD


India | भारत | Republic Of India | Bhārat Gaṇarājya | भारत गणराज्य India | भारत | Republic Of India | Bhārat Gaṇarājya | भारत गणराज्य Reviewed by Pawan Sharma on 10:58 PM Rating: 5
Powered by Blogger.